Thursday, April 18, 2024
No menu items!
HomeHomeShankar Baba 's vazzar model, and Padma

Shankar Baba ‘s vazzar model, and Padma

The Vazar Model, as explained by Shankar Baba Papalkar, who was born on February 14, 1942, in Partawada, Amravati district, is a unique approach towards the care and rehabilitation of disadvantaged and marginalized groups.  Initially a laundryman, Shankar Baba later turned to journalism, but the plight of these vulnerable individuals on the streets deeply moved him, leading him to dedicate his life to their upliftment.

Work :  Shankar Baba Papalkar, who has been caring for 123 orphaned children in Wazar, Amravati district, was recently announced as a recipient of the Padma Shri award by the Government of India. He has been working since the 1990s for orphaned, physically challenged, mentally challenged, and differently-abled children. He has taken in and nurtured 123 abandoned children found at railway stations, bus stands, and orphanages, providing them with care and a family environment.

    In the 1990s, he established an ashram in Vajjar, where he took care of disabled, orphaned, mentally challenged, and visually impaired children, creating a role model in India for such initiatives. Remarkably, he achieved this without any government grants or subsidies, focusing on making these children self-reliant.


Shankar Baba named these children after himself and ensured they were given identities, residential proofs, and benefits like the Jan Dhan Yojana, committing to their lifelong care. He has no home of his own, choosing to live with these children in Vajjar, and plans to continue doing so. He advocates for a law to allow orphanages to keep individuals over 18 years old, especially those with disabilities.  He had even refused numerous awards. Although he has agreed to accept the Padma Shri.

He believes in the urgent need for laws to ensure the continuous care of these individuals and hopes Prime Minister Modi will enact such legislation.


Previously, Shankar Baba Papalkar was awarded a D.Litt by a university named after Sant Gadge Baba. His receipt of the Padma Shri has been widely celebrated across various fields.


Something about Padma Awards:

This award is established in 1954 in India, are given annually except in 1978, 1979, 1993, and 1997. Any Indian citizen is eligible regardless of occupation, race, gender, or age, except government employees, with exceptions like doctors and scientists in government services. Foreigners and Non-Resident Indians (NRIs) can also receive these awards. Posthumous awards are also given.

The Padma Awards are divided into three categories:

1. Padma Vibhushan

2. Padma Bhushan

3. Padma Shri

The Padma Vibhushan is considered the second-highest civilian award in India after the Bharat Ratna.


The selection process was opened to the public in 2015, allowing anyone to nominate, including self-nomination. Nominations typically occur between May 1 and September 15. A committee, formed annually by the Prime Minister and headed by the Cabinet Secretary, recommends nominees to the Prime Minister and the President for final approval.

The committee includes the Home Secretary, the President’s Secretary, and 4 to 6 other eminent persons. A maximum of 120 awards can be given each year, excluding posthumous awards and awards to NRIs and foreigners.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/newsexpr/ on line 5420